Barnes ttsx 30-06 alternative powder

stalker.308

I am looking to load some barnes 165 ttsx in 30-06. Have attached the load data that barnes publish for this round.

as a first stop, I have heard of people using viht n140 with this combination, does anyone have load data for this? I have read that 4064 can be substituted with 140, but I have never done this before and 140 can be a bit fast for a heavy bullet? So ideally looking for published data first. If not, what other easily sourced powders are recommended, north Wales does not have good suppliers of reloading powders etc.

Attachments

• 4637F5AD-CF01-4392-BBDF-CFCDD1551BD6.jpeg
    4637F5AD-CF01-4392-BBDF-CFCDD1551BD6.jpeg
    202.7 KB · Views: 18

andyk

I've loaded Barnes TSX 168gr with N540 and got about 2,850fps from a 22" barrel. I can check my recipe if you're interested?

Scotty99

I think the quickload data looks about right. I load my 30-06 with 51.0 grn of N150 under a 165 grn Gameking with good results.

243varmint

Stalker 308
I've just done a similar thing but with 130gr in my 30-06.
Using N150 and getting good groups and velocity.
If you need any powder give me a shout.
Can get viht and Ramshot.

Border

View attachment 216017

good case fill
100% burn
Good pressure curve
good velocity
perfect powder for that combination
Genuine question.Would you normally load this hot?
I know it's a simulation and the data needs truing but if everything was true, would you load right up to the pressure max or give yourself some leeway?
I have the same QL version as you but normally stop halfway into the mauve band. PS I am not a QL expert 😎

borbal

I am not an expert in QL either, but I do know that solid monolithic bullets have a higher shot start pressure and higher friction than conventional cup-and-core bullets.