Beating with Dog

Dano

Not sure if this is in the right place but here goes.

im looking for some beating opportunities within an hour or so of west London where I can introduce my dog to beating. I have a 2 year old springer spaniel whose accompanied me pigeon and rough shooting on my own around my own permissions. He’s got good recal and hunts with his mind body and soul. He’s had no experience of being on a shoot though. I’d like to get him out if possible and was wondering how best to go about it or if anyone could recommend a shoot an hour or so to me where I could make a start. I’ve got no experience of handling a dog on a driven shoot. I wanted to steer away from anywhere too formal as I’d be worried he’d misbehave and spoil someone’s day! If he didn’t get along I’d happily leave early.

cheers
Dan

Attachments

• EE203471-31B7-48B0-AF86-10F8D773F0E2.jpg
    EE203471-31B7-48B0-AF86-10F8D773F0E2.jpg
    680.6 KB · Views: 41

enfieldspares

Have a word with local gunshops. They'll know who buys cartridges for game shooting and could pass your details on?

Print out some cards. Beating experience wanted and etc.. To leave in the gunshops? Just be careful you don't forget any in any 'phone boxes there in West London!

Shoots always welcome beaters although initially maybe go without your dog and then ask if the shoot would be helped if you took it along.

But, yes, well controlled dogs would usually be welcomed. So maybe intially offer to keep it on a long leash. See how it gets on.

Last edited:

User00025

Can't help you with a shoot but just a little advice.
Do not EVER take your dog in a beating line unless it is 200% rock steady, stops when flushing and is back beside you at first whistle sound. If you do and something bad happens (like the dog loses it and flushes every bird in the cover) you stand a good chance of being severely injured by a Keeper whose day and living you may have f....d up.

Alantoo