Best BBQ for venison

Freeforester

A v hot one, they all are capable, maybe consider a Blaser blazer/brazier (pro success with R8-grate :norty:), or a Steyr-fire, or even a Schmidt-pit :coat:use Merkel-charcoal!

sauer

Depends on your budget

Big green egg or other Kamado ceramic bows are very fuel efficient and hold temps well but expensive and ceramics crack ....

Me for all round bbq and smoking I have a Weber mastertouch kettle bbq...

You can grill hot and fast and do low n slow on it

Lots of accessories and rotisserie etc which I use a lot ...

If want dedicated low n slow hot smoker I have / use the Weber Smokey mountain bullet type smoker ....

Both used all year round and work well and you’ll get both the kettle grill style and a bullet type smoker for Lee’s than the price of a ceramic bbq

Paul

Bestman

Cheers Paul,

Do you use the low and slow method much with venison? If so does it dry out in the kettle? Nick

sauer

So far only done a haunch and it was good
best thing to buy for low n slow is digital wireless meat probes ... send temps of the bbq and the internal temp of the meat to a display ..

Takes guesswork out of it ...

Most of the low n slow I’ve done to date is
Pulled pork
Pork belly burnt ends
Brisket

I do all my own burgers and saddles but they are done hot n fast

With bullet smoker you have water pan below the grills but above the coals so your effectively cooking “indirect”

Paul

Hayduke

I get good results on a Landman Kentucky smoker, it is versatile and affordable (Homebase sell them at under £100 at the end of the season), it will BBQ, hot smoke and cold smoke food.

I really like that Nuke Delta looks the business, $1,300 - ouch , burns a big hole.

Just don't get a gas "BBQ", might as well cook inside. Charcoal, wood and fire is where its at

Orion

Homebase are currently selling Kamado Joes and will no doubt be outing them at a decent discount at some point when they don’t sell to their customer base.