Career change

palframan5

Good evening boys and girls,

I'm looking for a bit of advice please. Currently I am a self employed tree surgeon but I realize that I can't do this type of work all of my working life due to the strong physical requirements of the job. I am looking for some advice on how to being a career in game keeping, preferably more stalking than birds. I have been told that my tree surgery work would help me in trying to get a job on a small estate because a small estate would prefer to have someone's like an estate manager who could do all types of work involved.

Is this true

Any advice would be greatly appreciated

CarlW

Good evening boys and girls,

I'm looking for a bit of advice please. Currently I am a self employed tree surgeon but I realize that I can't do this type of work all of my working life due to the strong physical requirements of the job. I am looking for some advice on how to being a career in game keeping, preferably more stalking than birds. I have been told that my tree surgery work would help me in trying to get a job on a small estate because a small estate would prefer to have someone's like an estate manager who could do all types of work involved.

Is this true

Any advice would be greatly appreciated
Hi,
Are you willing to relocate? How about speaking to the Forestry Commission?
Kind regards,
Carl

palframan5

Thank you, I had not thought about the fc, would people like upm till hill, and the woodlands Trust be good people to speak with as well?

jubnut

Is your concern that being an Arborist is a physical job and as you get older you won't be capable of climbing?

If so, what makes you think you will still be capable of dragging deer?

Reactions: JTO

CarlW

Thank you, I had not thought about the fc, would people like upm till hill, and the woodlands Trust be good people to speak with as well?