Case life question 308WIN

paulbshooting

Good afternoon
I am fairly new to reloading (one year in) and really enjoy it. For my 308 WIN I loaded new lapua brass two boxes to start with, N140, fed primers and nosler bullets. Fine tuned the load and overall length to suit chamber, am delighted with the results. I don't shoot many rounds, only for stalking and the odd fox / check zero or practice.
I haven't kept score of how many reloads I have done from the same batch of brass. I always full length size and clean in stainless pin tumbler with cleaner in warm water, then loading batches of 20 every so often.
Last weekend I was loading a batch and after following the same process noticed the primer pocket to take less force to seat the primer (assume going oversize?) and the bullet seating pressure also seemed less.
Any advice would be welcome on the primer pockets and assume the necks need annealing? Will this effect accuracy? I intend to test a few next weekend but keen to learn.
Thanks.

PeterH

Others will probably give more information, but basically it is generally the primer pockets working lose that signify the demise of the case. As long as you have some sort of feel of pressure on the primer that should be fine - worse case is when you hardly feel nothing and a tap of the headstamp sees the primer on the move, then it will have to be binned. The amount of firings achievable can depend on the quality of brass and equally the amount of pressure you are loading the case to.

Personally I like to keep a record of the amount of times fired as I need to consider annealing (annealing wont help primer pockets though) and rather than keep separate boxes duly labeled I simply mark the case with a sharpie each time I reload the case.
DSCF1278.JPG

Alantoo

I would agree with @PeterH

Are your loads very hot? i.e. at the top end or over of the published load data/pressure range?