Changing Times Part Thirteen

bogtrotter

One day while discussing various topics the Head Keeper mentioned the fact that the estate was having some difficulty in finding a suitably experienced stalker to fill the position
on the estates deer forest some thirty or so miles away that had become vacant.

He said you know a lot of people, would you know anyone who would be interested? Only myself I replied flippantly! Are you serious? No I replied not really while I would love that job I have no real experience of being a stalker.
I had of course shot quite a few roe, I had even had a few days stalking hinds on the hill, but not anything that would equip me to take on a job such as this.

Well if you are really interested ! I would have to clear it with the Laird but if he is agreeable then its OK by me.
A few days later he told me the job was mine if I wanted it, the only thing was that due to my lack of experience it would be on a six months trial, but if I failed my old job would still be there for me to come back to.
Now all I had to do was to convince my wife to up sticks and move, to an area where she knew no one and that was much more remote than what she had been used to.
The task of talking her in to the move was much easier than I thought it would be, in fact she put up no resistance to the move even though in six months we might be reversing the move.
Six weeks later we were on our way.

On arrival I was greeted by a crofter , who was quick to tell me that it would be much different living here, and that I would not last long, I will give you a couple of months!
What had I done! if all the natives were like this it was going to be difficult not so much for me but for my wife and kids.
I was actually to become quite friendly with that crofter , and the locals were in the main civil, they were more wary of outsiders than actually unfriendly.