Cost of Stalking

sp4rkman

I'm looking for people's opinion’s on the cost of stalking here in the UK.

I'm new to sport here, but have been shooting game in South Africa for many years. I've been out a few times with a friend and don't have a problem paying for his time, knowledge, advice and of course the priviledge of being out on "his"land. He lets me take as much venison as i want, plus takes me rough shooting and lamping and never argues if i take some of the bag home for the freezer.

However, my friend is unavailable this year and so i'm stuck for somewhere to stalk. I've looked around on the internet and found a few places but costs are really heavy on my small pocket (and no, that's not because i'm tight). Most places charge you per outing, there's no extras like lamping etc included and then still expect you to pay for the meat you wish to keep.

I understand people need to make a living but bleeding everyone else dry in the process isn't really fair.

I'm not a trophy hunter, i'm out there because i enjoy being out in nature and if i bag something for the freezer then that's just a bonus.

By the time you've taken into account all costs you're looking at £500 for 2 days stalking, accomodation and a deer for the freezer. That's a lot of money out of my budget.

i know many of you have your own grounds but a newbie like me stands no chance of finding this. To me, it's a pot of gold at the end of a rainbow

buckup

Hi,
I've got lucky, but so can anyone.