First quadcopter

johngryphon

Being an absolute novice and having not even seen one in action other than on tv I was pleasantly surprised as to how good the little Syma XC5 is,camera equipped for video and a steal at around $75 AUD delivered.
Trials and learning to fly included 14 shots from a single barrel .12G to break one tree branch way above ladder height to retrieve then the next day another dozen shots when stuck in another tree.

All I can say is if you buy a drone make sure that you have room to move or at least be able to shoot where you fly.
Great fun and no doubt down the track a Phantom will be ordered.

Rasputin

If your happy with a spanner and soldering iron. Try building one if parts are available. My buddy built one for about 2/3 price of a phtanom and its more highly specced. Flies upntona few thousand feet lol.

aris

I got an XC5 for my son for Christmas. I'm not sure who had more fun flying it :lol:

My advice - buy lots of spare batteries!

johngryphon

alas my model building skill is hopeless!

I saw where a fella built his fastest drone in the world for $650..it is amazing.

aris..i know exactly where you are coming from too.

Rasputin

alas my model building skill is hopeless!

I saw where a fella built his fastest drone in the world for $650..it is amazing.

aris..i know exactly where you are coming from too.
Thats a shame. My buddies one was wicked it took a full Go Pro and few really easily was pretty big too. I bought my father one for Xmas and he used it twice and now its in a box. Dick!!! Grrr

johngryphon

A full go pro? That would be fantastic to use or drop into the dam ha ha,I have had some close ones too.

bobjs

took my young ones up to 1200 feet and switched it of,

it it returned to within 6 feet from its take of point..

dj phantom 3

great fun just don't take it out when it's to windy,

bob

bobjs

Sounds excellent fun Bob, my 10 year old son would like one for Christmas !!. But a lot of money though. But we'll see.