Fly fishing, complete novice looking for advice.

caberslash

Hi all,

I am sure some of you on here fish, I am looking for some tips on how best to get started.

Living in the Highlands with quite a few remote lochs where no one ever fishes so I thought I might give it a go.

Only ever caught fish out of a small lake a handfull of times on the other side of the world so effectively zero experience.

Was told that fly fishing is a good place to start as you can fish burns (streams) rivers and lochs.

What should I be looking to get started with equipment wise? Any good ways to practise?

Thank you!

enfieldspares

Try a few rods first as depending on your ability a fast or tip action rod won't suit you. But best of all try places that offer casting lessons and have rods to go try. You could end up buying kit that is entirely unsuitable elsewise. I've four rods 7' 6" #4, 9' 0" #6, 10' 0" #7 and a 10' 6" #7. The all around is the nine footer but for traditional loch fishing you'd be better served with a ten or ten and a half footer IMHO. All my rods are Hardy Marquis which was and is an easy to cast middle action rod. A feature of such middle action rods is that they are usually the least expensive and if you need it you can roll cast with them. But there's even more ways to spend money with fly fishing gear that even with reloading!

Last edited:

Fair Hill

Hi all,

I am sure some of you on here fish, I am looking for some tips on how best to get started.

Living in the Highlands with quite a few remote lochs where no one ever fishes so I thought I might give it a go.

Only ever caught fish out of a small lake a handfull of times on the other side of the world so effectively zero experience.

Was told that fly fishing is a good place to start as you can fish burns (streams) rivers and lochs.

What should I be looking to get started with equipment wise? Any good ways to practise?

Thank you!