GERMAN WIREHAIRED POINTER

Nickyj58

PUP IS INBOUND FIRST DEER DOG, I HAVE COCKERS AS A KEEPERS DOG SO NOT A COMPLETE NOVICE BUT PLEASE OF YOU HAVE ANY TIPS OR ADVICE LET ME KNOW.

REGARDS

NJ

Sent from my SM-N950F using Tapatalk

mereside

bond with the dog first and get this strong, play with skins ragging and such like get the pup playing, everyone here says they are slow to mature and need time, my German friends have huge amount of things to do with testing and start early.
just build slowly and break everything down into short exercises that are fun for the dog and don't rush forward, make sure everything you do with the dog is achievable and nailed down before moving on rushing forward will give you nightmares and some things can never be undone. Anything to do with a rifle and deer keep separate depending on what you actually are wanting to achieve, what are you planning for the dog, regards wayne.

Nickyj58

bond with the dog first and get this strong, play with skins ragging and such like get the pup playing, everyone here says they are slow to mature and need time, my German friends have huge amount of things to do with testing and start early.
just build slowly and break everything down into short exercises that are fun for the dog and don't rush forward, make sure everything you do with the dog is achievable and nailed down before moving on rushing forward will give you nightmares and some things can never be undone. Anything to do with a rifle and deer keep separate depending on what you actually are wanting to achieve, what are you planning for the dog, regards wayne.
Sound advice thank you for the reply, he will be used purely for retrieval of deer in wind blow etc etc

mereside