Head space checking

NigelM

I'm no real expert, but the correct way to do it is with a proper set of go and no-go gauges. That's the definitive test and used by gun smiths and the proof house.

There is a bodgers way of half doing it, which a proper gunsmith wouldn't approve of, but it is done. Get some insulating tape Measure it's thickness with your verniers - it's probably about 2 thou. Put a layer on the base of a new or FL sized cartridge and trim around the outside. Then try to chamber.

If it chambers alright add another layer and trim. Chamber again and see if the bolt closes. Keep adding layers until you can't close the bolt without a struggle. Pull the tape off and measure the total thickness again with your verniers as it has now been compressed. If it's more than about 6 thou or 3 layers of tape you probably have too much head space.

Or you can buy a set of head space gauges. Or best of all take it to a gun smith and he will do it properly for you which is likely to be the cheapest option.

bobjs

Cheers nigel

I think its set to tight,

I fitted new ejector and extractor and on closing the bolt with brand new brass the bolt was hard to close and the ejector (sako type) made a grove in the head of the case, never seen this before so it looks like the gun will have to go to a smith for acheck up.

Bob.

Fosbery Holster

Hi Bob

The simplest way I find to check head space is to use your own fire formed brass from that particular rifle, or if none use unfired pulled round for safety’s sake.