Ideal time for lamping rabbits?

Just wondering what time folk are venturing out to lamp rabbits? I know this will vary with weather, location etc, I'm new to lamping and have been struggling to get any. Tried both working along hedges and (VERY) quietly sitting out for them in the areas where they leave most evidence. Where possible I've been sat out on top of the farm buildings just to try and eliminate my stalking as the problem. Fresh droppings, digs and nibbled winter wheat all point to plenty being there. I've varied my start times from dusk up until 8pm but still no results. I've always taken the wind into consideration, avoided rainy weather, not shone the lamp around too much and I'd like to think I'm pretty stealthy. Am I too early???

Andy-shooter

In my experience they can be out any time, if you have a trail camera stick that up near the warren and see if you get anything. If you do you may find there is some regularity to their behaviour (or not)

What time are you venturing out at the moment?

Andy

Good idea. Hopefully that will narrow down the timings. Earliest I'm out is dusk and the latest so far is 8pm, usually out for 2-3 hours.

Yorric

Bunnies don't particularly like getting wet & often stay underground avoiding it. I always found that they are often out before the dew forms & go down to keep dry & warm as it starts getting wet under foot.
For the same reason you won't see so many when it is raining or when tall grass is wet. After rain they will come out onto short grass lawns first.

Ian

Cyres

A small amount of rabbits can do a lot of damage so it is possible that you not got that many. If poss borrow a thermal. I would say you want to be out after 8pm. Choose dark breezy evening and work up wind. If lamping quick sweep to pick up eyes and then plan you stalk. Easier with NV.