New .308 time! Sako or Tikka?

RedRanger

I have been stalking for about a year now and i'm itching to upgrade my rifle to something better/lighter/shorter for woodland stalking.

I'm happy with my scope (Swaro fixed 8x50) for the moment and reckon i've got about £1000 for a rifle and mod once i've sold or p/x my current rifle and mod.

I was settled on the T3 lite as my friend has one which shoots really well and i'm impressed by the weight but wasn't that keen on the plastic stock.

The question is do I settle for the T3 (in budget) or break the bank for secondhand Sako 85 or A7 if I can find one. Is it worth the extra £200-£400? Any suggestions on where the best prices for these rifles are at the moment gratefully received. Best price I can find on a T3 lite is £720 new.

What factory rounds do people use in these? I don't reload and as I'm still a novice would like to keep things 'simple'.

Thanks

RR

T3 lite stock is pretty appualing IMO. The wooden hunter stock is OK as long as you keep it oiled it shouldn't be a problem.

The 85 is finished alot better than the T3 and really worth the little extra if you care for that sort of thing but they'll shot as good as each other.

The T3's magazine is not a patch on the 85's. Plastic vs metal, and the metal one can top feed too which is pretty handy for crossing fences and the likes in snow. I've got 2 85's a plastic SS and a hunter, I much prefer the feel and weight of the hunter but I like heavy.

well, depends if you want flash or function. I actually like the t3 plastic, it's durable and dependable and the single stack magazine is light, fast loaded and reliable. All in all the stainless synthetic t3 is designed to be rugged and dependable throw about that works hard. Not a soft lads rifle that gets scared by dirt and cleaned religiously at the first sign of drizzle.