New Hilux 2016 2.4L

jackfish

Looking at trading in my 3.0L 14 plate hilux for the new model, just wondering if anyone has any experience with the new 2.4L engine and how they found it?

Would appreciate any feedback before I take the plunge.

Cheers

Bryan

highland stalker

Looking at trading in my 3.0L 14 plate hilux for the new model, just wondering if anyone has any experience with the new 2.4L engine and how they found it?

Cheers

Bryan
I have no experience of the new 2.4 but I do have an older 3.0 and what you are suggesting sounds like a bad idea to me. I think there is supposed to be a 2.8 coming out aswell.

jackfish

Reading into it the emissions are too high for the uk with the 2.8L, whether that is something that they will rectify or not in the near future is anyone's guess.

reiver

Reading into it the emissions are too high for the uk with the 2.8L, whether that is something that they will rectify or not in the near future is anyone's guess.
Toyota has also stoped importing /making Rav4 Awd diesels for the Uk they are now only in petrol or Hybrid petrol.but they do go like poo of a stick.

weejohn

The only pickup manufacturer that has the right idea is volkswagen . They are bringing out a new 3ltr V6 version , 0-60mph of 7.9 seconds and able to tow 3.5t . It's the same engine that's in the audi, porsch cayenne, vw tourag. I am an isuzu fan but even they have lost the plot and dropping engine size to 1.9ltr !!!!! Crazy if you ask me when it's meant to have a train weight of 6000kg+
EU emissions regulations are mental.

Olaf

Cheers

Bryan
i looked into these last year and came to the conclusion that aside from me not liking the look of them one bit, the new and tiny engines they have used are a big no no.
If you can't keep your 14 plate because it's done crazy miles then I'd look around for a new old model and get a bargain. Failing this then I'd get the Izuzu

Kindest Regards, Olaf

tackb