POI 3 feet to right?? Help needed!

JMikeyH

Evening all,

Some of you know I am fairly new to stalking having shot just two deer, and today was the day when I thought I'd finally be able to get out on my permission to start looking for deer myself, with my own rifle.

Sadly that isn't how today went

After getting my moderator from the gun shop, I pieced everything together and went out to a field with suitable backstop to shoot a box and zero the rifle now that it has been screw cut, had 2 inches off the barrel and also has a moderator.

I set a box up at 50 yards away to get the rifle roughly zeroed before moving it out to 100 yards

Much to my dismay, the round was hitting in the dirt about 3 feet to the right of my target.

I tried a variety of bullets, 100gr Federal Powershok, 100gr Hornady Whitetail and 90gr Sako Gameheads. All hitting far off to the right. I took the moderator off, thought perhaps it was clipping it. I inspected the moderator and there did indeed appear to be chipping, which surprised me as this moderator was suitable for up to .308 and I was shooting .243 through it. Nevertheless, I took a shot with the moderator off and frustratingly the round hit in near enough the same place, far off to the right.

The scope then? I had adjusted it as far as it could go and still wasn't enough. Scope was doing just fine before, so I drove home, took the scope and mounts off, checked everything over and remounted a different scope. Back to the field, and the same story!!

This leaves 2 things unchecked.

1) The rail. I feel this is unlikely as again, the rifle was shooting fine before and surely if there was 3 feet of misalignment at 50 yards it would be visible to the naked eye

2) I've got a lemon back from the gunsmith. I'm no expert at the tolerances of gunsmithing, but the thread looks very well cut, there's no obvious flaw in the work that has been done on my rifle.

So what is it then?