Post WWII Britain?

captdavid

I'm a retired history teacher, and was wondering. I know Britain suffered food shortages during and after WWII. How many years, after the war did it take for Britain to get back for normal food supplies? capt david

old keeper

Having been around at that time I would say potshotpat was about right. If we got sorted after the war I have no doubt we can do it post Brexit. The only difference is, we were populated by virtually all British people who were determined to get things sorted, I do wonder if the same enthusiasm will be shown by everyone who lives here now.

Woodsmoke

The only difference is, we were populated by virtually all British people who were determined to get things sorted, I do wonder if the same enthusiasm will be shown by everyone who lives here now.
If it turns out that the gravy train needs a bit of help pushing, we might find ourselves rid of a few scroungers and the balance may begin to redress itself. Wishful thinking though, I suspect

deeangeo

I missed the rationing in the UK.
Dad was in the army and we spent those years abroad in Germany, Malaya and Singapore. Even then we didn’t arrive back in the UK from Egypt until 1956.
No rationing at all in any of those countries at that time (1949-1956)

We did come to UK for short leave in 1952 before sailing to Singapore.