Powder Versus Seating depth?

Which do you adjust first?

• Total voters

Monkey Spanker

Just curious as to which is generally tackled first when developing a load. Do you adjust the powder weight first then the seating depth, or vice-versa? Is there any reliable information as to which is the preferred method?:confused:
MS

Brithunter

I always try to seat the bullet so that it's base as at the neck/shoulder juncture and work the powder charge out from there. I do not subscribe to this must be close to the lands stuff at all.

Monkey Spanker

I always try to seat the bullet so that it's base as at the neck/shoulder juncture and work the powder charge out from there. I do not subscribe to this must be close to the lands stuff at all.

So are you saying that you ONLY alter the powder weight and don't bother with seating depth at all?:confused:

Richard S

I'm new to reloading and am at present working on my first .243 load.
I have been going on the basis that the bullet should be seated just off the lands, which seems logical, but some people obviously disagree.
​I made an OAL guage based on the Hornady one. Have I wasted my time ?
Also, I've never heard of adjusting seating depth, after getting the powder sorted, to improve accuracy. If I try this is it trial and error, or is there some sequence I should follow.
Any advice would be appreciated.

Richard

Dovebob

I'm no expert, but with the 8 or so loads I've worked up I've done powder weight first and have been able to get good accuracy by varying that. I've not yet needed to adjust the seating depth.

Monkey Spanker

I have been going on the basis that the bullet should be seated just off the lands, which seems logical, but some people obviously disagree.
Also, I've never heard of adjusting seating depth, after getting the powder sorted, to improve accuracy. If I try this is it trial and error, or is there some sequence I should follow.

Richard