Practical Marksmanship

Little Terry

I spent a couple of hours last night doing some zeroing and practice with the .243 after having the barrel screw cut and fitting a Mod. I have a Steyr Luxus with S&B 8x56 fixed mag scope and Atec mod and shoot factory ammo (usually Norma or Winchester).

I was set up on the bonnet of my Navara, using a bipod. I was shooting slightly down hill in order to make it as safe as possible and there was quite a strong wind blowing from left to right. I am not an expert shot and have done next to nothing on the range. I usually fire one or two test shots and then go hunting. Usually hit what I shoot at and have had no real reason to question my technique.

However, last night I put over 30 rounds through the rifle and tried out some different bullet weights etc. To be quite honest, the more I shot and the harder I tried, the worse my grouping seemed to get!

It got me thinking about marksmanship techniques. I want to go back to the basics now (I'm never going to be interested in pushing the accuracy of my rifle to it's limits and any rifle i own will probably be capable of more than I am).

I would like to see what you consider to be the best advice for consistent, reliable shooting accuracy so that i can apply the advice on my next practice session.

I don't want this to turn into a thread about pillar bedding, load development, etc, just practical tips about how to shoot as well as possible within real life stalking conditions - grip, trigger control, breathing, etc etc.

Thanks in advance for the help.

Mark.

"To be quite honest, the more I shot and the harder I tried, the worse my grouping seemed to get!"

That's probably because the barrel and moderator heated up. We see it a lot on the range and shooters instead of taking a break and allowing things to cool down and return to normal start chasing the error and will often adjust ad re-adjust their scopes.