REACH conundrum.

I'm brand new to realoading, and I've just got all the necessary hardware to make a start.
So, a couple of days ago, I made the 2 hour round trip to my RFD to get powder, bullets and primers and that was fine. I was after a tub of Viht N140 or similar, but the main chap was away on holiday and his stand in was not up on modern powders. He found me a tub of Hodgdon Benchmark Extreme that looked suitable for my .308
While I was looking for load data on the interweb, one site popped up that it was not REACH complaint.
So my conundrum is this...
Do I use it knowing that all my load workups will be of no future use as I cannot get the powder again - therefore just for the practice.
Or... Do I wait another week and make another round trip for a different powder.
The powder was not discounted, and I'm using Sierra Gameking heads, so expensive if I just count it as practice.
Also, my nearest 100yard range is a 3 hour round trip - so as much as I enjoy shooting...
I thought I would take some advice off you folk.
Cheers
Martin

Sonicdmb73

Personally I would take it back and get Vihtavuori or another REACH compliant powder.
You will only get 160 loads or so out of the tub. You will use a number of them in your development and subsequent zeroing.
It does depend on what you intend to do with the remainder. If they are likely to last you six months or more it might be worth using the powder.

Ratwhiskers

"Not up on modern powders"..... Hmm....... Was there N140 in stock?! or was he bungin' you a dud to clear his shelf??!!

As you've found out, you're in a "Once it's gone, it's gone!!" situation if you pop the seal on the can. l would suggest, and l know it's not one you wish to hear but l would take the stuff back and get your self sorted as per your original idea.