Reloading 243 85gr sierra with hunter

shakey jake

Any one got any experience of ramshot hunter? I cant find a charge range for 85gr hpbt sierra gameking, gunshop local to me has advised 40gr start max 45gr.
He stocks the powder so easy access, doesnt appear to be getting banned soon, reading the ramshot data it list bullets of similar weights but not this one and sierra dont list ramshot, other powders by ramshot dont go to right bullet weight.
Should i try this range or different powder?
Thanks for looking shakey

Cant help with Ramshot Jake but Viht N160 works very well with an 85 grain bullet in the .243. I have been using it for quite a few years.

Use the Ramshot data for the 87gr Vmax 41.8gr - 46.4gr (I didnt choose the 85gr Barnes data as thats a different type of bullet to the Sierra you're using). Hunter is perfectly suited to the .243.

Sierra recommends loading the 85gr gameking to 2.65" COAL which ties in with the 2.64" for the 87gr in the Ramshot data.

http://m-b-r.co.uk/HTML/CalibreRelaodingInfo.php

Hunter works very well in my .270 and gives good velocity.

Last edited:
Good bullet choice and good powder too. I've used the same bullet and currently use Ramshot Hunter but not together. As Takbok says use the data for the Vmax and work up and you'll be fine. If you're using a powder thrower you'll be amazed at how consistent the Ramshot powders are and you'll find you end up not needing to weigh each charge (I certainly don't and have great results). If you use an auto trickler you may find the powder pours out too fast and is a bit harder to use.

Thanks guys, glad people like the bullet choice, ill take takboks advice and try it, uncle norm is n160 on the reach list?
Shakey

Any one got any experience of ramshot hunter? I cant find a charge range for 85gr hpbt sierra gameking, gunshop local to me has advised 40gr start max 45gr.