Shot gun cartridge crimp issue

Silvius

I am trying to build a tungsten shot load. I have finally got all the fiddly little bits and pieces needed for the recipe and put a cartridge together. The crimp is a bit low I think.

I suspected that this would be the case. The recipe uses a wad designed for a 2 3/4 inch 12 gauge cartridge in a 3 inch cartridge with a 1/8 felt overshot wad. I never could figure out where the other 1/8 was going to come from. If the recipe had not been from a respected authority on Tugsten shot, I would have thought it a bit odd. The cartridge actually rattles less or the same as any of the shop bought ones I have but there is a 3 mill hole in the middle of the crimp. The hole is not a functional problem because there is an over shot felt wad but I am new to tungsten and not having everything looking right makes me cautious.

So, what to do? shoot it as is, try crimping differently or add another 1/8 felt? Any thoughts would be gratefully received. The load has a pressure rating of 6300 psi if that helps, so I can't imagine another overshot felt would take it to dangerous pressures. But what do people think?

Mr. Gain

Sorry if this is stating the obvious, but have you tried contacting the source for the load, explaining your concerns, and asking their advice?

stalkerboydy

I am trying to build a tungsten shot load. I have finally got all the fiddly little bits and pieces needed for the recipe and put a cartridge together. The crimp is a bit low I think.