Stalking Chef

Maletarms

Hi all, I’ve been a deerstalker for almost 20 years. I enjoy various other shooting sports disciplines too.
I’m a chef and run a country pub, through which I move all the venison I cull, either on the menu or as sausages, burgers etc sold directly into our local community.
I’m fortunate enough to use a custom built rifle in 7mm08 and I use Zeiss optics.
I’m about to start home-loading, principally to mitigate the potential fall out from the move away from lead ammo to non-toxic alternatives. Be prepared for rookie ammo questions! Cheers

Sako6.5x55

Hi, I would be interested to know where your pub/restaurant is, I love my venison but I never had it cooked by someone else. I once asked the waitress in a restaurant what the venison was which was on the menu, the reply from the chef was ‘fresh‘. I chose not to have it and had the steak instead. 6 species of deer, 2 sexes and different seasons all have an effect on the venison your eating and never eat a steak off a rutting stag unless you like the taste of testosterone. Questions on reloading are always welcome, the one piece of advice I would offer is buy a micrometer seater die it cuts out guess work.

aquarius11

Welcome Chef, i am also a chef but the other way round ( first stalk booked) i have been reloading for some time and found this site to be very helpful, just start out slow and steady, read lots, watch lots (youtube) make your own data starting low and work it up but remember your rifle is as individual as you are - dont rely on other people's load data its for their rifle not yours.
Have fun and enjoy.
Oh and welcome from Essex

Last edited:

Foxyboy43

Good man and welcome to the Dark Site Side! As a very good intro you should read the attached:-
it is the second post on this site’s reloading forum and well worth a read.
Good luck!
🦊🦊

Foxyboy43

Thank you Mr Fox!