5 Stalks in Dorset.

Tom270

FIVE STALKS TRIP TO DORSET
Having a few days free at short notice I placed an advert on the SD for stalking and the dates I was free. I was not massively hopeful but got several replies one of which was well beyond my expectations.
Ian got in touch offering 5 stalks over 3 days on his permission in Dorset so of course I took up the offer. We exchanged PMs and then a chat on the phone, where he asked me about me, my rifle, experience, insurance and FAC which was all ok.

Monday afternoon saw me loading up the car for the drive to Worcestershire which apart from being a bit slow on the M42 and A42 was uneventful and two and a half hours later I arrived at Ian’s.
We had a brew and a chat followed by steak and chips which was beautiful. We talked of shooting experiences which in Ian’s case was extensive and I explained I was a novice and grateful for the opportunity and that I had shot one Roe buck several years ago and four boar other than that zilch. I had been stalking with my mentor Steve several times once when I shot the buck, been a walk round with Deerwarden and 2 stalks with Sikamalc in Sussex all where I had picked up and expanded my theoretical and practical knowledge.
He said not to worry there were 1400 acres and plenty of deer on the ground but of course no guarantees.
The plan was use his spare room for a few hours sleep and up at 2 for the trip to Dorset in his truck. He had booked us hotel rooms for our two night stay and we would stalk the morning of arrival then morning and evening of the next two days and a final one on the last morning before coming home.