Advice for a novice - Trigger sensitive and variable - too little and too much?

tdawson

Hi folks, I need some advice please? I have a Tikka M590 308 calibre, and one of my stalking guides suggested the sensitivity of my trigger is way too light (he used the gun to check my zeroing) . To test this, I held the rifle in a vertical position and tied a water container to some fishing line and hung this off the loaded trigger, and started slowing filling the container until the trigger fired, then weighing the container and water contents. It all seemed to work well, so I repeated the experiment 10 times. On average the trigger weight was 1lbs 8.5 oz, but there was quite a lot of variability (which might be due to the filling operation?) ranging from 1 lbs 11.3 oz down to 1lbs 5.1 oz. As I'm a novice (booked to do my DSC1 next month), should I increase trigger weight? It's obviously nice to not need to pull hard on the trigger to fire a round (less likely to move the gun), but it feels pretty scary when I turn off the safety catch, making sure I'm nowhere near that trigger!

Dalua

First - you're absolutely right that your finger should be away from the trigger at any time except when you're in aim and about to fire - safety-catch or not.

I think the creep-free nature of a trigger is more important than the weight - and folk have wide-ranging preferences as to the weight that suits them.
That said, a trigger for stalking should IMO allow you be to be able to feel the blade under your finger without fear of it going off at first touch even when your finger is very cold. For me, this means an absolute minimum of 2lb - and my preference would be 2.5-3lb.

As far as 'pulling' the trigger causing the rifle to move goes, it should be possible to work on your 'squeeze' to avoid that even with a heavier trigger-pull.
:)

andyk