Can someone explain seating depth?

wildfowler.250

So assuming I’ve done my load development by powder charge and all at the textbook COAL. I can then tweak the seating depth to hopefully shrink the groups further?

Now I’ve heard that finding/chasing the lands isn’t worthwhile as it changes as the rifle gets used/older? Probably folk will disagree here and that’s great, I’m a relative novice but I think I heard that on panhandle once.

If I have the COAL. How much can I tweak the seating depth by? I’ve seen people talk about 10 thou so 0.01 adjustments? How much of an increase and decrease in seating depth do folk normally go for?

Any good textbooks that discuss this aspect well? Frankly I’ve always been a bit to cautious to go down this route and stuck with COAL as per the textbook.

Cheers!

Border

Check out Erik Cortinas videos on youtube about seating depth/chasing lands. Or just stick to book c.o.a.l or calibre depth in neck/ seat base of bullet to bottom of case neck.
Short version. He finds jam then comes back 20 thou. He then come back in intervals of 3 thou until he finds a consistent node. All explained in the videos. This can also be done with magazine length minus 20 thou if the cartridge won't fit in the mag.

Woodsmoke