Africa advice please

twoseventy

Good morning all,

I've been invited to go hunting in South Africa, but I've had no experience of the hunting scene abroad before and wondered if i could draw from the wealth of experience on this forum?

The invitation has offered various hunting packages, each with varying numbers and species. I've never really been interested in trophy hunting, but i do enjoy a challenge. Certainly not interested in any big dangerous game, but i am looking for suggestions of species to book for that will present a challenge and also entertainment. It seems like a waste to go all that way just to shoot fish in a bucket so to speak!.

So those that have been, which species have been the most memorable for you? and which ones are likely to come back and have a go if you get it wrong?

Nathan

CarlW

Bushbuck and wildebeest will both have a go if you cock it up. As will sable in the right circumstances. Following up wounded pigs is no fun either. However, I am sure you will shoot them all beautifully and not need to worry about that.

AdrianC

Hunting in Africa is something that will make want to return.
For a first time hunt I would recommend animals that make you think of Africa.

Of course if your invitation is bound to a package then you might not get the choice of species and you don't mention how many animals are included but for a first hunt I would go for a warthog, a springbok, a zebra, an impala, Hartebeest, wildebeest or possibly look for a gemsbok and of course the kudu is one of those animals that most hunters dream about.

Walking and stalking is the only way to hunt properly in my opinion. I have only sat in a hide a few times to shoot bait animals but the thrill of being on foot and hunting is hard to beat in Africa.

Each animal I have hunted will always be a special memory but a few stand out.