Always always always check !

CDSG Shooting Sports

jall55

Evening guys

I have had over 30 years experience and nearly had a major accident this weekend.

I think it is worth posting the details so that even if one person has a similar situation they will think and check

I was out with my .17 HMR. I shot a squirrel - a moment later another appeared so i reloaded and squeezed the trigger - nothing - no fizz / bang - just a click.

Believing i had a mis-fire i left the rifle pointing in a safe direction and after 2 minutes opened the bolt - to discover- an empty case.

I believed this to be the one from the first shot - so ejected this and cycled another

The second squirrel still sat looking so i took aim and again squeezed the trigger.

What followed was the most shock i have ever suffered as the gun made a massive bang and blew out the magazine.

After 5 minutes and the panic has subsided i thought the last round must have had a fault

I recovered this and also scouted on the floor for the magazine and found the previous case. It was still full of powder !

What happened is the head / bullet of the cartridge had come off in the chamber and got pushed down the barrel

I really was lucky and if i had suffered a "misfire" in a shotgun i certainly would have checked the barrel - if i had heard a fizz or small bang i would have checked the barrel - all i would say is if something unexpected is felt/heard/happens - CHECK the barrel before cycling another round or squeezing that trigger !

Please share - and yes i know i should have done but as stated if one person reads this and remembers it if the situation arises i can handle the ridicule because i count myself so lucky to be able to share this with no injuries at all.

Namman

Evening guys

I have had over 30 years experience and nearly had a major accident this weekend.

I think it is worth posting the details so that even if one person has a similar situation they will think and check