Sierra Gameking .308 on Muntjac

Tomc1990

Hi All,

I was stalking recently and shot a Muntjac Doe with a 150gr Sierra Gameking from my .308 rifle. The shot was about 65m. When I retrieved the carcass the bullet had passed straight through with a very narrow wound channel. I expected the Gameking bullet to have mushroomed more?! Are Sierra Gamekings reliable at expanding / mushrooming? Or is a .308 too powerful for Muntjac?

Constructive thoughts / opinions / comments welcomed!!

Tom

JMikeyH

Don't think it will have been that 308 is too powerful, it's a big bullet going a fair bit slower compared to other commonly used calibres. I would have expected a big old exit wound on the other side. Where did the bullet pass through? Hit any bone? How hard is the lead on the Gamekings?

Bearing in mind I'm no expert, but that's just my thoughts

Tomc1990

Don't think it will have been that 308 is too powerful, it's a big bullet going a fair bit slower compared to other commonly used calibres. I would have expected a big old exit wound on the other side. Where did the bullet pass through? Hit any bone? How hard is the lead on the Gamekings?

Bearing in mind I'm no expert, but that's just my thoughts

There was quite a big exit wound, but very little damage in the cavity. The bullet passed straight through the lungs. The lead is pretty hard on the Gamekings which is making me wonder whether it needs quite a lot of resistance to make it expand??

Colonel

I have shot muntjac with 243 using 95gr SST and even they will drill a hole through if no one was hit. Don’t worry about bullet performance if it drops the deer to the shot unless you get too much meat damage

JMikeyH

There was quite a big exit wound, but very little damage in the cavity. The bullet passed straight through the lungs. The lead is pretty hard on the Gamekings which is making me wonder whether it needs quite a lot of resistance to make it expand??