Which optic

blaserf3

Hi all, I’m new to stalking and just about to get my first rifle. I’m looking for advice on the best scope for a mixture of woodland and hill stalking. I’ve looked at Leica, Swarovski and ZEISS so far but know there are other good males out there. I would like to keep it simple as ballistic turrets and reticule may complicate things for me. BDC I’m not sure about. I can probably go up to £2000. Any help is appreciated.

Cyres

Delta Titanium 2.5-15 x 56 will do all you need and the spare cash would make a big deposit on a Pulsar thermal.

D

Andy-shooter

No need to go too crazy. £2k is a lot of money and while the wide zoom ratio scopes (z6, z8, v6, v8 etc) by the German/Austrian brands are lovely, most of the time you’ll be in the 4x - 8x range in my experience.

For woodland and I do always like an illuminated dot reticle of some kind.

I just picked up a Karl Kaps 2.5-10x56 from optics warehouse on sale for £700 and it’s an absolute corker. Optical and build quality are up there with my much more expensive scopes and it has one of the nicest illuminated No4 type reticles I’ve seen.

I also have (and more frequently use) a Kahles HELIA 1.6-6x42. Again, wonderful optics and build quality with illuminated ret, its a bit lighter and more compact for the woods. You may feel like you need more mag than 6x but the brand is worth looking at.

Andrew

ejg

S&B 3-12x50 Zenith with FD7 reticle. The illumination is one of the best out there, doubles as a day dot, very simple to use. The other adjustment is the Magnification, 3 for close up woodland which can be cranked up to 12 mag for the hill. 8x56 is a bullet proof solution but just too little field of view for the woods and too little mag for precision shots.
edi

Malxwal