Cordite

Heym SR20

When did we stop using cordite as the main propellant for rifle ammunition.

I know that the Americans have been using granular powders since the start of smokeless powder, but were we still using cordite till late 1980’s?

I can't think of anywhere where we were still using cordite as late as the 1980's, although of course, there were still plenty of military surplus .303 ammunition being still used then and no doubt still a fair bit about now. Certainly when I started shooting at Bisley in the 1960's all ammunition for competitions was supplied (heavily subsidised by the government, only .303 was used) as part of your entry fee. The ammunition was all string cordite 1940's production.

I believe it was also used until later as an artillery propellent and also in solid fuel rockets, maybe something like the Bloodhound missile. I believe also, the way .303 ammunition using strings of cordite was made was rather odd. I think the part formed cases were filled with the spaghetti like strings of cordite and then the neck cold formed to shape.

The early days a smokeless propellent is very confusing with governments developing their own or similar versions at the same time although the long strings of cordite are quite distinctive.

Laurie Holland is the chap to tell you about this. - Certainly and interesting area to research.

Sash

When we switched from .303 to 7.62mm
IIRC 7.62 was never designed to use cordite (and was a US-developed round).
i don’t know, but would be surprised if the .280 Enfield round would have used cordite, either.

potshotpat

Can't help with the dates but my old boss was in the RAF as a rear gunner in Halifax's. I remember him telling us that a question that was asked by new gunners was, what was the smell made when firing their guns. They were told when your firing it's Cordite, when it's being fired at you it's S**TE. :norty:

enfieldspares