bsockett

Hi all,

Ben here, I'm new to stalking and have just got my firearms ticket through so will be buying my first rifle soon.

I have permission near Huddersfield and York, both very different permissions one is hilly ground with a good head of roe whereas the other is flat as a pancake with some roe and fallow. I am also pursuing a career in gamekeeping/ estate and wildlife management so will eventually use my rifle as a workhorse, not just a stalking rifle.

I've got a .243 and mod on my ticket so any suggestions on which rifle and mod is very welcome, hence why I am posting on here.

Total budget is 1500 but could push to 2000, but this is for rifle, mod, scope and mounts, sling and bipod.

Been looking at tikka t3x hunter, browning x bolt hunter or the eclipse thumbhole version, I dont like plastic stocks and prefer wood or laminates.

Please help its a minefield out there and can't really decide.

Ray7756

Hi Ben welcome to the site, for that budget you will easilly get a very nice set up,but you need to decide exactly what you want, traditional wood stock ??? Harder to care for or plastic type stock, or laminate stock, traditional blued steel or stainless,,,,,,, ok your choices are endless so check out the online sites,, guntrader , gunstar etc plus check out all the gunshops near and far, handle the guns , get familiar with the choices, and jump straight in,,,, I absolutely guarantee you after 3 - 6 months you will decide you have not got it right and need to buy another or change the one you have, just enjoy the experience
When I was looking at my first gun , the only choice I had was, wood and blued or wood and blued
Cheers
Ray

Last edited:

VSS

Hi there, welcome to the site.